I am an Arizona Girl

I am an Arizona Girl.

I’m the girl whose favorite activity is anything in the sun. When asked my favorite temperature I consistently say 92 degrees (in Chicago I have to add that this is without humidity). This makes sense considering I grew up with more sunny days than not.

My dad and sister hiking.

I love basking in the sun while thinking about how long I can stand the heat before having to jump in the pool as an escape. I love running on a summer morning before the temperature creeps over 100 degrees. I love playing soccer games that physically drain my body due to the temperature and physical exhaustion.  I love coming out of a cold store and feeling heat on my skin. I love sitting in the grass watching a Spring Training Game as my skin radiates with heat knowing that I am getting sunburned.

As I sit at home during a whiteout this morning in Chicago, as I watch the snow pour down and pile up on my street, as my commute time is at 3 hours verse the normal 45 minutes, my mind seems to keep coming back to the thought, “I am an Arizona girl.”

img_0278-4

One thought on “I am an Arizona Girl

  1. When did you make it to work today??

    And “knowing I will get a sunburn” what?? I burn when I just look outside! So I never ever sit out in the sun, letting myself get burned! I actually avoid the sun. I like the warmth but am too afraid of the consequences! Shade is my friend.

    Like

Leave a comment